Stealin’ Christmas (INCOMPLETE)

For the past 2 weeks or so, I’ve been working on a simple game to celebrate Christmas this year. Christmas came and went but I was unable to finish the game up in time. Due to my timing misjudgement, I was unable to get an actionscripter in time to help me out with the codes for my game. Even though it is just a really small game, it sucks having to put the development on hold.

A brief introduction about Stealin’ Christmas. It is a top down shooter and tells the story of how the Grinch started obsessing over stealing Christmas every year after being bullied constantly by Santa Claus when they were still in school. The player will control the Grinch in the game.

Below is a collection of pixel art and animation that I have done for the game:
Grinch
Grinch_ani2 Grinch_ani1

Enemies are based on old-school toys like the monkeys from ‘Barrel of Monkeys’. I had plans for those hippos from ‘Hungry Hippos’ but had to cut them due to time constraint. When defeated, the enemies will shrink back to their toy form and explode like fireworks.

Robo_ani2 Robo_ani1
Monkey_ani Plane_ani Soldier_ani

Santa Claus & his Robo Reindeer(!!!)
Santa_ani
Robodeir_intro Robodeir_beam

Here are a few pieces of artwork done for the game’s cutscene. They are painted by a good friend of mine. (Hello, Kou!)
SC_concept01SC_concept02
SC_scene02SC_scene01

A screengrab of the background. Still need detailing.
bg_sample

Leave a comment